Showing posts with label Pinterest. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Pinterest. Show all posts

Monday, February 24, 2014

Confessions of a Photo-Challenged Wanna-Be Pinnable Girl

It's confession time. I'm pretty much lost without my admin, my digital guru, my “would you please when you have some (ha!) free time maybe make me...” go-to guy. I miss you, Jeremy. However, I think this forced “figure it out yourself, Tina” time is really what I needed. Who knew?

For a while, my blogging mentor, Amanda of House Revivals, has been encouraging me to make my posts “pinnable” and adding the Pinterest button to what I write. She's amazingly sweet, and kind, and even made me my first two pinnable images as a gift.

Well, life kinda happened after that, but life (though it's Good!) always happens, and I didn't get to more than opening a Pinterest account. I have no idea where all my followers came from because I had maybe two pictures of nail designs I like and new followers everyday. Probably because jenn of quirky pickings, and one of my Tina's Terrific Team of minions, is doing a give-away, and since I contributed, I could “make” people follow me on Pinterest. Thanks, all of you. I am learning. And I followed you back.

I thought I'd share some of my adventures with you, and Jeremy, please don't laugh at how picture-manipulating challenged I am. Because of course, I wasn't going to go the easy route and just use one of the fabulous images Amanda made for me. No. I had to figure out for myself how to make them so that when I'd used hers, I wouldn't be out of material and all Pinnable-Interest (oh, I think that was a good one...) would die off.

So I google, I help menu, I ask The Transporter about software. “Are you kidding me, Mom? That's like $700 dollars and that's why you can't find it on your Windows 8.” (I'm used to the NOT finding things on W8, so it really wasn't THAT stupid of a question...in my opinion, based on previous experience...) For example, W8 doesn't come with a DVD player.

Here's where I am right now. I can make a pinnable image using PicMonkey. I have learned how to add a non-removable watermark (unless you're a genius – the tutorial promised that it would be really hard for even the most experienced photo guru to remove without a trace.)

I have new, free, Norton approved, photo-editing software. (Oh-please-don't-let-me-lose-the-original while using it...I'm really trying to follow the directions and so far my favorite button on either program is UNDO...)

I even made a pinnable image! It has nothing to do with this post. I just picked a favorite picture that I knew would make a post someday. However, I also learned the painful lesson that the two programs I'm using don't like each other, so you can either have the watermark, or the title of the post, but not both, if you made one with the first and the other with the second. Territorial rights, I guess. So I'm not putting it up.

Despite my (very well known) quest for attention, I will not add it to this post. This is just me whining about learning something new and it being hard to do. But hey! It's a COMPLETELY NEW TOPIC OF WHINING. So be happy for that.

Now all that's left is to get that little pin-thing onto this page...I've really tried following the directions...but for now, I'm leaving it with the ½ finished picture. As in waiting for later.

What have you tried to learn lately that challenged you?


~Tina