It's confession time. I'm pretty much
lost without my admin, my digital guru, my “would you please when
you have some (ha!) free time maybe make me...” go-to guy. I miss
you, Jeremy. However, I think this forced “figure it out yourself,
Tina” time is really what I needed. Who knew?
For a while, my blogging mentor, Amanda of House Revivals, has been encouraging me to make my posts
“pinnable” and adding the Pinterest button to what I write.
She's amazingly sweet, and kind, and even made me my first two
pinnable images as a gift.
Well, life kinda happened after that,
but life (though it's Good!) always happens, and I didn't get to more
than opening a Pinterest account. I have no idea where all my
followers came from because I had maybe two pictures of nail designs
I like and new followers everyday. Probably because jenn of quirky pickings, and one of my
Tina's Terrific Team of minions, is doing a give-away, and since I
contributed, I could “make” people follow me on Pinterest.
Thanks, all of you. I am learning. And I followed you back.
I thought I'd share some of my
adventures with you, and Jeremy, please don't laugh at how
picture-manipulating challenged I am. Because of course, I wasn't
going to go the easy route and just use one of the fabulous images
Amanda made for me. No. I had to figure out for myself how to make
them so that when I'd used hers, I wouldn't be out of material and
all Pinnable-Interest (oh, I think that was a good one...) would die
off.
So I google, I help menu, I ask The
Transporter about software. “Are you kidding me, Mom? That's like
$700 dollars and that's why you can't find it on your Windows 8.”
(I'm used to the NOT finding things on W8, so it really wasn't
THAT stupid of a question...in my opinion, based on previous
experience...) For example, W8 doesn't come with a DVD player.
Here's where I am right now. I can
make a pinnable image using PicMonkey. I have learned how to add a
non-removable watermark (unless you're a genius – the tutorial
promised that it would be really hard for even the most experienced
photo guru to remove without a trace.)
I have new, free, Norton approved,
photo-editing software. (Oh-please-don't-let-me-lose-the-original
while using it...I'm really trying to follow the directions and so
far my favorite button on either program is UNDO...)
I even made a pinnable image! It has
nothing to do with this post. I just picked a favorite picture that
I knew would make a post someday. However,
I also learned the painful lesson that the two programs I'm using
don't like each other, so you can either have the watermark, or the
title of the post, but not both, if you made one with the first and
the other with the second. Territorial rights, I guess. So I'm not
putting it up.
Despite
my (very well known) quest for attention, I will not add it to this
post. This is just me whining about learning something new and it
being hard to do. But hey! It's a COMPLETELY NEW TOPIC OF WHINING. So be
happy for that.
Now
all that's left is to get that little pin-thing onto this page...I've
really tried following the directions...but for now, I'm leaving it
with the ½ finished picture. As in waiting for later.
What
have you tried to learn lately that challenged you?
~Tina


